ASQ Fellow Grade and Nomination

ASQ has bestowed the Fellow Grade on select members since 1946.  An ASQ Fellow is an individual who has an established record of contributions, both to the quality profession and to the Society.

The ASQ Fellow Grade and Nomination process, guidelines and requirements can be found on  The ASQ Reliability and Risk Division encourages any qualified members to request nomination.  Members must be senior in grade for at least five years and may be nominated by their section or division.  Please note that the Division can only nominate members according to ASQ guidelines, and cannot modify or change any policies.


Per ASQ, Fellow membership status is awarded to individuals are ASQ members in good standing and meet the following criteria:

  • Have at least 15 years of quality-related experience.
  • Achieve requirements across six professional categories.
  • Are sponsored by peers and endorsed by their ASQ section or division.
  • Have been a senior member for five years or longer.

The Reliability and Risk Division considers many factors in evaluating potential candidates for Fellow nomination.  These include industry/academic experience, achievement in reliability and risk related fields as well as involvement within the Division.  Roughly 50 percent of the nominations for advancement to Fellow are not accepted by the ASQ Examining Committee. It is not in anyone’s interest to turn away a nomination, but it is the Examining Committee’s responsibility to ensure that the nominations conform to established requirements.

The ASQ Silicon Valley section provides excellent details of the process and application process.  Please visit additional information.  Please not that the link is provided for information purposes only, and that you do not need to be a member of a specific section in order to be nominated.

We encourage you to get involved in the Division!